I-I-I Blog

I Expert - I Topic - I Answer

Leading experts and thought leaders share their knowledge on key topics

Click to Add Your I-I-I Blog Contribution

 Dr. Mohammad Al-Ubaydli is founder and CEO of Patients Know Best – a UK-based provider of patient-controlled medical records He trained as a physician at the University of Cambridge, worked as a staff scientist at the National Institute of Health and was a management consultant to US hospitals at The Advisory Board Company. He is the author of seven... Read more

Prof. Dr. Marco Zanetti is President of the European Society of Musculoskeletal Radiology (ESSR),2014-2015. He is Head of the Musculoskeletal Radiology Centre at the Institute of Radiology, Clinic Hirslanden in Zurich, Switzerland. ESSR's A nnual Scientific Meeting opens in York, UK on 18 June. We put our 7 questions to Prof. Zanetti. 1. What... Read more

Christopher Farmer is a critical care physician at Mayo Clinic Arizona, and serves as Professor and Chair, Department of Critical Care Medicine. He served as President of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) , the largest international professional medical society dedicated to the care of critically ill and injured patients, from 2014-2015. ... Read more

Dr. Ruth McPherson is the Director of the Ruddy Canadian Cardiovascular Genetics Centre, Atherogenomics Laboratory and the Lipid Clinic. She is also the Director of Research for the Division of Cardiology at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute and a Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Biochemistry at the University of Ottawa. Dr. McPherson’s... Read more

Morten Elbæk Petersen is the CEO of the innovative Danish public health portal sundhed.dk. Launched in 2002 for citizens and health professionals and the largest patient portal in Europe, the site won Petersen the HIMSS Europe eHealth Leadership Award this year. Today, twenty per cent of the Danish population uses the portal every month and use is... Read more

Dr. Manu Malbrain is the medical hospital director of the ZNA " Ziekenhuis Netwerk Antwerpen " Stuivenberg and ZNA St-Erasmus hospitals in Antwerp, Belgium since 2013. He is the manager and director of the Medical and Surgical ICU, the High Care Burn Unit and a hyperbaric oxygen chamber of the ZNA Stuivenberg/St-Erasmus. He is the founding President... Read more

Boris Zernikow, medical scientist and paediatric and palliative medicine researcher, has been awarded the 2015 Communicator Award for his dedicated and public outreach work on pain, pain therapy and palliative care in children. He will be the sixteenth recipient of the Communicator Award. Dr. Zernikow will receive 50,000 Euros for his work on 30 June... Read more

Thomas P. Cappola, MD, ScM, is a physician-scientist with special expertise in heart failure. He is the Chief of the division of Cardiovascular Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania.  The division of Cardiovascular Medicine at Perelman cares for over 68,000 patients each year. As Chief of Cardiovascular Medicine,... Read more

Professor Christoph Dietrich is President of the European Federation of Societies of Ultrasound in Medicine and Biology (EFSUMB), which holds its 27th Congress EUROSON in Athens, Greece 6-8 November 2015. 1. What are your key areas of interest and research? The pathology of gastrointestinal diseases and the use of ultrasound techniques... Read more

Charles-Marc Samama, MD, PHD, FCCP, is Chair of the Scientific Committee of the European Society of Anaesthesiology (ESA). ESA’s annual congress, Euroanaesthesia 2015 , meets in Berlin from 30 May to 2 June. Dr. Samama is Professor and Chairman in the Department of Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, Cochin University Hospital, Paris, France. He heads... Read more

Dr. Wenger is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Cardiology at the Emory University School of Medicine and a consultant to the Emory Heart and Vascular Center. Her primary clinical and research interest is coronary heart disease in women. She also has expertise in cardiac rehabilitation and a longstanding interest in geriatric cardiology. ... Read more

Prof. Jörg Debatin is Vice President and Chief Technology Officer at GE Healthcare. HealthManagement.org asked him 7 Questions: 1. HealthManagement.org promotes management and leadership in healthcare. Where do you see main angles to contribute to as CTO?  My training and work as an academically active diagnostic radiologist coupled with my... Read more

Michael Ferguson is the co-founder and CEO of Ayogo, a Vancouver-based digital health company that has raised nearly $2.5 million to boost sales and marketing for a gaming platform that is designed to encourage people with chronic conditions to stay on their health care plans. Michael Fergusson is not your typical CEO. With his dreadlocked mane... Read more

Dr. Silvio  Ñamendys-Silva, MD, DHCA, MSc, FCCP is   President of the Mexican Board of Critical Care Medicine  (2014-2016). He is the department head of Critical Care Medicine and Fellowship Program Director, Department of Critical Care Medicine, Instituto Nacional de Cancerología in Mexico City, Mexico. He is a clinical researcher for the Department... Read more

Dr. Sean P. Pinney, MD has been appointed the Director of Heart Failure and Transplantation for the Mount Sinai Health System. He will be leading the clinical expansion, integration and coordination of inpatient and outpatient heart failure and heart transplantation services across the Mount Sinai Health System which includes the Mount Sinai Hospital,... Read more

Dr. Linda Burnes Bolton is Vice President for Nursing, Chief Nursing Officer, and Director of Nursing Research at Cedars-Sinai. She has also served as president of the American Academy of Nursing and the National Black Nurses Association. Dr. Bolton has played a key role in raising awareness about issues related to diversification in nursing education... Read more

Alex W. Gourlay is one of the keynote speakers at the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS) annual conference being held this week in Chicago, Illinois. Gourlay is president of Illinois-based Walgreen Co., the largest community pharmacy in the US, a role he has filled since September 2014. In 2012 it was announced that Walgreens... Read more

Dr. Theodoros Kyprianou, MD PhD EDIC, is Head of the Department of Intensive Care Medicine at Nicosia General Hospital in Cyprus and Associate Professor, St Georges University of London – Medical Programme at the University of Nicosia Medical School. Dr. Kyprianou is currently Chair of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine’s Technology Assessment... Read more

Prediman K. Shah, MD, Director of the Oppenheimer Atherosclerosis Research Center and the Shapell and Webb Family Chair in Clinical Cardiology, is to be named a Master of the college from the American College of Cardiology during the medical society’s 64th Annual Scientific Session & Expo. Shah is a Professor of Medicine and Cardiology. He is recognised... Read more

Kate Sweeney is one of the founders of Cancer and Careers, an organisation dedicated to helping people with cancer continue their lives in the workplace. She is also the Executive Director of the $2.5M Cosmetic Executive Women (CEW) Foundation, a charitable organisation dedicated to helping women, which launched Cancer and Careers in 2001 after five... Read more

HealthManagement.org Blog, Zoom On, 7 Question InterviewsOpinions of thought leaders driving the healthcare enterprise. Zoom On Reports and 7 Question Interviews.