I-I-I Blog

I Expert - I Topic - I Answer

Leading experts and thought leaders share their knowledge on key topics

Click to Add Your I-I-I Blog Contribution

Breast density was a hot topic at the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) Annual Scientific Meeting in Chicago last month. A new grassroots initiative, “ Each One Tell One ”, also known as the Dangerous Boobs Tour , made its debut through the sponsorship of  SonoCiné AWBUS™, an Automated Whole Breast Ultrasound technology that provides a supplementary... Read more

Darren Lacey is the Chief Information Security Officer (CISO) and Director of IT Compliance at Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins Medicine. When Johns Hopkins University opened its Information Security Institute, Lacey was its first Executive Director. The institute is a National Security Agency Center of Academic Excellence in Information... Read more

Prof. Julian Bion was presented with the 2013 President’s Award from the UK’s Intensive Care Society at their recent State of the Art meeting in London. Bion, Professor of Intensive Care Medicine at the University of Birmingham, recently completed his term as an Editorial Board Member of ICU Management. The citation for the Award by Prof. Mark Bellamy... Read more

Professor Erika Denton is the National Clinical Director for Diagnostics at the National Health Service (NHS) England, with responsibility for clinical leadership, advice and guidance across the NHS and covering all diagnostic services. Diagnostic services make up 10% of NHS spending and over 1 billion tests are done every year. In the National Picture... Read more

In November 2014, Simon Gillespie was appointed as President of the European Heart Network (EHN). He is the current CEO of the British Heart Foundation (BHF), the UK’s primary heart charity and supporter of cardiovascular research. Gillespie has decades of experience in the charity sector and in non-profit governance. He is a trustee of the Institute... Read more

Dr. Kwang Tae Kim is President of the International Hospital Federation (IHF), an independent, non-profit, non-governmental body for hospitals and healthcare organisations. He is a general surgeon who graduated from Catholic University of Korea’s College of Medicine in Seoul, Korea. Dr. Kim is the Past President of the Korean Hospital Association,... Read more

Bruce D. Leidal is the Chief Information Officer at Carestream Health, Inc. Since being hired by Carestream’s CEO, Kevin Hobert, in August 2008, Leidal has transformed the company’s IT organisation into a global operation. His leadership has generated greater process efficiency and reduced costs, which ultimately benefit not only Carestream Health’s... Read more

Geraldine McGinty, MD, MBA, FACR is Chair of the American College of Radiology (ACR) Commission on Economics. A specialist in women's imaging, she is Assistant Professor of Radiology at Weill Cornell Medical College and Assistant Attending Radiologist at the New York-Presbyterian Hospital-Weill Cornell Campus. She was inducted as a Fellow of the American... Read more

Dr. Stephen Brett takes up office as President of the UK's Intensive Care Society in January 2015. We asked him our 7 questions.   1. What are your key areas of interest and research? I have a very broad interest in the clinical aspects of intensive care research and practice. If pressed, I would say that I am interested in understanding recovery... Read more

Silvia G. Priori, MD, PhD, is the Director of Molecular Cardiology and Electrophysiology Laboratories at the Fondazione Salvatore Maugeri in Pavia, Italy. She has been a Professor at the University of Pavia since 2000 and a Professor of Medicine at New York University (NYU) since 2008. Dr. Priori specialises in the clinical management of patients... Read more

As World AIDS Day is celebrated on 1 December 2014, we profile Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, president of the International AIDS Society since 2012. Barré-Sinoussi is a French virologist, and a past winner of the International AIDS Society Prize. Her research has focused primarily on retroviruses. In 1983, she discovered the human immunodeficiency virus... Read more

The growth of social media for medical CPD has been astronomical over recent years. More and more healthcare professionals are taking to Twitter to share useful papers and educational resources. The emphasis on encouraging Free Open Access Medical Education (FOAM) is embedded throughout these interactions. We have no intention of reinventing the wheel... Read more

While the fruits of a good corporate reputation translate into increased revenue and growth, a poor one can cause considerable commercial damage, and the importance of keeping reputations strong should not be underestimated. This is especially pertinent in the medical industry, where patient safety, ethical procurement and shrinking budgets are finding... Read more

Linda Denehy, PhD heads the Department of Physiotherapy at the University of Melbourne’s School of Health Sciences. Prof. Denehy is one of seven invited faculty members at the 2014 Critical Care Congress, the theme of which is “Inspiring ICU”. The conference takes place from 26 to 30 November at the Baxter Theatre Centre in Cape Town, South Africa.... Read more

Professor Leonard Berlin, MD, FACR, is Professor of Radiology at both Rush Medical College and the University of Illinois College of Medicine. Dr. Berlin was awarded Gold Medals for distinguished service to Radiology by the American Roentgen Ray Society in 2002, the Chicago Radiological Society in 2005, and the American College of Radiology in... Read more

Charles Safran, MD is this year’s recipient of the American College of Medical Informatics (ACMI) Morris F. Collen Award for excellence in the field of medical informatics. The award recognises achievements in the use of information technology in healthcare. Specifically, it honours individuals who have advanced patient care and medical education through... Read more

The American Heart Association has named Bruce Furie, MD, Chief of the Division of Hemostasis and Thrombosis at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC) and Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, as a 2014 Distinguished Scientist. Furie is one of six recipients of this award in 2014. He was honoured during the opening session at AHA's... Read more

Richard J. Umbdenstock has served as President and Chief Executive Officer of the American Hospital Association (AHA) since 1 January, 2007. AHA members include more than 5,000 hospitals and healthcare organisations, as well as 43,000 individuals. Umdenstock’s involvement with the AHA dates back several years. Prior to his appointment as President... Read more

Professor Michael Reade, Australian Defence Force Professor of Military Medicine and Surgery, University of Queensland and ADF Joint Health Command, is a practising specialist intensive care physician and clinician scientist in the Australian Defence Force (ADF), seconded by Joint Health Command to the University of Queensland to lead a programme of... Read more

Professor Stephen R. Baker is a valued member of  HealthManagement’s Editorial Board - Imaging section, and previously served on the Editorial Board of IMAGING Management. Prof. Baker is a renowned educator and researcher, and has been professor and chair of the Department of Radiology at the Rutgers New Jersey Medical School since 1990. He is one... Read more

HealthManagement.org Blog, Zoom On, 7 Question InterviewsOpinions of thought leaders driving the healthcare enterprise. Zoom On Reports and 7 Question Interviews.