The Value-Based Health Care Center in the Netherlands has announced details of the nominees for its fourth annual VBHC Prize.


The award recognises inspiring initiatives that aim to create excellent patient value.


The nominees, each pushing boundaries in their particular fields, include VBHC in pulmonary sarcoidosis, heart care, asthma healthcare, mental health and palliative care.


The jury includes VBHC experts Prof. Dr. Fred van Eenennaam, Prof. Robert S. Kaplan and Prof. Elizabeth Teisberg.


In a ceremony on May 11 in Niykerk, the Netherlands, Harvard Prof. and one of the world’s leading value-based healthcare leaders, Michael Porter will announce and award winners before sharing his view on the winning initiatives and the latest developments in VBHC.

See Also: Value-Based Healthcare Revolution Ahead

In addition to awarding the VBHC Prize 2017 winner, three initiatives will be awarded with Excellence Awards who have outstanding focus and results on Patient-Outcomes, Cost-Effectiveness or Collaboration.


The Value-Based Health Care Center Europe has been the European platform for VBHC implementation since 2012. With over a thousand members in the community, VBHC Center Europe facilitates people with an interest in VBHC to connect, create and share best practices. Additionally, since 2014, VBHC Center Europe annually awards the VBHC Prize.

Last year’s winners were the Department of Cardiology of Catharina Hospital and CZ. The organisations won the third edition of the prestigious VBHC Prize of the breakthrough first long-term value-based contract. The initiative is a highly innovative contract between the hospital and an insurance company in which the hospital is rewarded based on the quality of care they deliver and has great potential to expand to other departments and medical conditions.


Source: VBHC Prize

Image Credit: VBHC

Latest Articles

value based healthcare The Value-Based Health Care Center award Michael Porter Elizabeth Teisberg Robert Kaplan The Value-Based Health Care Center announces award nominees