ICU Management & Practice, ICU Volume 6 - Issue 2 - Summer 2006


share Share

IARS Research Awards


Deadlines for 2007 International Anaesthesia Research Society (IARS) research award applications are rapidly approaching. Applications for the 2007 IARS Clinical Scholar Research Awards are due June 5, 2006. This annual award, of up to $80,000 is intended to fund clinical investigations that enhance the understanding of clinical practice in anesthesiology and related fields. Applications for the 2007 IARS Frontiers in Anesthesia Award are due September 11, 2006. This award, of up to $500,000, is given biannually to one scientist who demonstrates innovation and creativity in support of anesthesiology. These IARS awards are limited to IARS members.


Winners of the 2006 Clinical Scholar Research Awards include: Dr. Giora Landesberg’s “Cardiac Morbidity and Mortality in High-Risk General ICU Patients: Pathophysiology and Prospective Randomized Trial,” Kyle T. S. Pattinson’s “Investigation of Pharmacological Modulation of Respiratory Control Using fRMI,” Dr. Esther M. Pogatzki-Zahn’s “The Role of the Menstrual Cycle, Sex Hormones and Gender for Modulation of Pain Perception and Cortical Activation After an Experimental Incision in Human Volunteers, “ Dr. Sam R. Sharar’s “Subjective and Neuroimaging Assessment of Combined Opioid and Virtual Reality Analgesia” and Dr. Ruth Zaslansky’s “Topical Morphine for Analgesia and Promotion of Wound Healing in Patients with Skin-Graft Donor Sites.” The 2005 winner of the Frontiers in Anesthesia Award was Dr. Michael Zaugg’s "Functional Genomics of Anesthetic Protection in Human Myocardium." More information about past and future IARS research awards can be found at

Print as PDF
IARS Deadlines for 2007 International Anaesthesia Research Society(IARS) research award applications are rapidly approachin

No comment

Please login to leave a comment...

Highlighted Products