BIR: IRMER UPDATE

BIR: IRMER UPDATE

Partners Exhibit

Partners Symposia



Building on the success of previous BIR IRMER updates, this event aims to provide an invaluable multi-disciplinary forum in which to hear about current practice and the direction of flow of IRMER. We have the opportunity to influence the future implementation of IRMER such as how well is IRMER understood within radiology? What about outside? Can we improve referral practice? How will the wealth of data on patient radiation dose and demographics be managed in the future? Can we rationalise our use of PPE, balancing radiation protection with other risks?
Come to this event to network with your colleagues in radiology, physics, and the various government bodies.

Educational aims:
This event will provide information on the changing shape of IRMER and how it is assessed; including an opportunity to discuss the wider sphere of influence and involvement of IRMER. It will also include a look at the future of data management in radiology and the balancing of risks when selecting and using PPE.

Non member

£250

BIR Plan 1 member

£145

BIR Plan 2 member

£110

BIR Trainee member

£65

BIR Retired/Student member

£55



09:00

Registration and refreshments

09:30

Welcome and introduction Mr Peter Hiles,

Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital

09:35

Update from Department of Health

Mr Ian Chell, Policy Manager for Ionising Radiation, Department of Health

10:05

Revising the medical and dentail guidance notes - what’s going on? An IR(ME) R focus

Mr John Saunderson, Consultant Physicist/Radiation Protection Adviser, Hull and East Yorkshire

10:25

Managing IRMER in Scotland (IRMER inspector with Scottish perspective)

Mr Arthur Johnston, Warrented IRMER Inspector for Scotland

10:45

The work of the PHE Medical Exposures Group in support of IR(ME)R compliance

Mrs Louise Fraser, Scientific Adviser, Public Health England

11:05

Refreshments

11:25

CT justification study in NI Speaker to be confirmed Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

11:45

Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

12:05

Classification of radiology errors to help you learn from them: The work of the Clinical Imaging Board’s (CID) radiology errors working party (WP)

Ms Maria Murray, Professional Officer (Radiation Protection), The Society and College of Radiographers and Chair of Working Party

12:35

Lunch

13:35

IR(ME)R outside radiology: How is it handled?

Dr Claire Skinner, Consultant Clinical Scientist and Head of Radiological Physics and Radiation Safety, The Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

14:05

Cardiologist training in radiation protection - developing an eLearning package

Mrs Debbie Peet, Head of Medical Physics, Leicester Royal Infirmary

14:25

Refreshments

14:45

Guidance for producing DRLs and/or progress on national dose registry

Ms Sue Edyvean, Head of Medical (Radiation) Dosimetry Group, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards (CRCE)

15:05

Shaping the future of patient dose management in radiology

Mr Matt Dunn, Head of Radiology Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust

15:25

Big data - big deal?

Dr Andrew Reilly, Head of Radiotherapy Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust

15:45

New guidance on X-ray PPE

Mr Peter Hiles, Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital

16:05

Questions

16:15

Close of event




More events

BIR UK MRI Course 2018

Tue, 30 Jan 2018 - Fri, 2 Feb 2018


Boar Lane 4, Trevelyan Square,
England LS1 6ET
United Kingdom
ECR 2018

Wed, 28 Feb 2018 - Sun, 4 Mar 2018


Bruno-Kreisky-Platz 1
Vienna, Vienna 1220
Austria
2018 Yale Point of Care Ultrasound Course

Wed, 28 Feb 2018 - Fri, 2 Mar 2018


Clearwater Beach, Florida 33767
U.S
SIR 2018- 43rd Annual Scientific Meeting

Sat, 17 Mar 2018 - Thu, 22 Mar 2018

EUROSPINE Spring Speciality Meeting 2018

Thu, 26 Apr 2018 - Fri, 27 Apr 2018


Rennweg 16
Wien 1030
Austria
SCR 2018

Thu, 10 May 2018 - Sat, 12 May 2018


Route Louis-Favre 2
Ecublens, 1024
Switzerland
RadiologyAsia 2018

Fri, 11 May 2018 - Sun, 13 May 2018


1 Expo Drive, #02-01 486150
Sinapore
ESTI-ESCR

Thu, 24 May 2018 - Sat, 26 May 2018


Rue de Varembé 17
Genève 1202
Switzerland
MIC 2018

Wed, 6 Jun 2018 - Thu, 7 Jun 2018


Sandstone Lane
London, E16 1XL
United Kingdom
ENC 2018

Wed, 6 Jun 2018 - Thu, 7 Jun 2018


Sandstone Lane
London E16 1XL
United Kingdom
EOC2018

Wed, 6 Jun 2018 - Thu, 7 Jun 2018


Sandstone Lane
London, E16 1XL
United Kingdom
ESGAR 2018

Tue, 12 Jun 2018 - Fri, 15 Jun 2018


Spencer Dock
North Wall Quay, Dublin 1
Ireland
ESSR 2018 Annual Meeting

Thu, 14 Jun 2018 - Sat, 16 Jun 2018


Amsterdam, North Holland 1012
The Netherlands
ESPR 2018

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 - Fri, 22 Jun 2018


Mohrenstraße 30
Berlin, 10117
Germany
OIC.8

Thu, 28 Jun 2018 - Sat, 30 Jun 2018


Frana Supila 12 20000
Dubrovnik,
Croatia
LRCB Digital Breast Cancer Screening for Radiologists 2018

Mon, 2 Jul 2018 - Fri, 6 Jul 2018


Wijchenseweg 101, Nijmegen 6538 SW
Netherland

Related articles