BIR: IRMER UPDATE

BIR: IRMER UPDATE

Partners Exhibit

Partners Symposia



Building on the success of previous BIR IRMER updates, this event aims to provide an invaluable multi-disciplinary forum in which to hear about current practice and the direction of flow of IRMER. We have the opportunity to influence the future implementation of IRMER such as how well is IRMER understood within radiology? What about outside? Can we improve referral practice? How will the wealth of data on patient radiation dose and demographics be managed in the future? Can we rationalise our use of PPE, balancing radiation protection with other risks?
Come to this event to network with your colleagues in radiology, physics, and the various government bodies.

Educational aims:
This event will provide information on the changing shape of IRMER and how it is assessed; including an opportunity to discuss the wider sphere of influence and involvement of IRMER. It will also include a look at the future of data management in radiology and the balancing of risks when selecting and using PPE.

Non member

£250

BIR Plan 1 member

£145

BIR Plan 2 member

£110

BIR Trainee member

£65

BIR Retired/Student member

£55



09:00

Registration and refreshments

09:30

Welcome and introduction Mr Peter Hiles,

Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital

09:35

Update from Department of Health

Mr Ian Chell, Policy Manager for Ionising Radiation, Department of Health

10:05

Revising the medical and dentail guidance notes - what’s going on? An IR(ME) R focus

Mr John Saunderson, Consultant Physicist/Radiation Protection Adviser, Hull and East Yorkshire

10:25

Managing IRMER in Scotland (IRMER inspector with Scottish perspective)

Mr Arthur Johnston, Warrented IRMER Inspector for Scotland

10:45

The work of the PHE Medical Exposures Group in support of IR(ME)R compliance

Mrs Louise Fraser, Scientific Adviser, Public Health England

11:05

Refreshments

11:25

CT justification study in NI Speaker to be confirmed Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

11:45

Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

12:05

Classification of radiology errors to help you learn from them: The work of the Clinical Imaging Board’s (CID) radiology errors working party (WP)

Ms Maria Murray, Professional Officer (Radiation Protection), The Society and College of Radiographers and Chair of Working Party

12:35

Lunch

13:35

IR(ME)R outside radiology: How is it handled?

Dr Claire Skinner, Consultant Clinical Scientist and Head of Radiological Physics and Radiation Safety, The Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

14:05

Cardiologist training in radiation protection - developing an eLearning package

Mrs Debbie Peet, Head of Medical Physics, Leicester Royal Infirmary

14:25

Refreshments

14:45

Guidance for producing DRLs and/or progress on national dose registry

Ms Sue Edyvean, Head of Medical (Radiation) Dosimetry Group, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards (CRCE)

15:05

Shaping the future of patient dose management in radiology

Mr Matt Dunn, Head of Radiology Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust

15:25

Big data - big deal?

Dr Andrew Reilly, Head of Radiotherapy Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust

15:45

New guidance on X-ray PPE

Mr Peter Hiles, Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital

16:05

Questions

16:15

Close of event




More events

IDKD 2017

Sun, 26 Mar 2017 - Thu, 30 Mar 2017


Talstrasse 49
Davos Platz, Graubünden 7270
Switzerland
12th European Molecular Imaging Meeting (EMIM) by European Society for Molecular Imaging (ESMI)

Wed, 5 Apr 2017 - Fri, 7 Apr 2017


Universitätsstraße 33
Köln, Nordrhein-Westfalen 50931
Germany
2017 SBI/ACR Symposium

Thu, 6 Apr 2017 - Sun, 9 Apr 2017


404 South Figueroa Street
Los Angeles, California CA 90071
United States
ESMOFIR/ESHI Satellite Symposium 2017

Sat, 8 Apr 2017 - Sat, 8 Apr 2017


Gleueler Straße 51
Köln, Nordrhein-Westfalen 50931
Germany
 Complementary Breast Diagnosis course

Thu, 13 Apr 2017 - Sat, 15 Apr 2017

BIR/DMCI Hands-On Training Series

Wed, 19 Apr 2017 - Wed, 19 Apr 2017


Cambridge St 80
Birmingham, West Midlands B1 2NP
United Kingdom
The BIR/DMCI Hands-On Training Series

Thu, 20 Apr 2017 - Thu, 20 Apr 2017


Cambridge St 80
Birmingham, West Midlands B1 2NP
United Kingdom
Fusion Imaging: Whole - Body and Hybrid Imaging in Oncology

Thu, 4 May 2017 - Sat, 6 May 2017


Im Neuenheimer Feld 280
Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg 69120
Germany
Radiologendagen 2017

Thu, 11 May 2017 - Fri, 12 May 2017


Beursplein 37
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland 3011 PM
Netherlands
RadiologyAsia 2017

Fri, 19 May 2017 - Sat, 20 May 2017


1 Expo Drive
Singapore 486150
Deutscher Röntgenkongress  2017

Wed, 24 May 2017 - Sat, 27 May 2017


Messe-Allee
Leipzig, Saxony 04158
Germany
SIIM 2017 Annual Meeting

Thu, 1 Jun 2017 - Sat, 3 Jun 2017


Fort Duquesne Boulevard 1000
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
United States
ESSR Annual Scientific Meeting 2017

Thu, 15 Jun 2017 - Sat, 17 Jun 2017


Via Cardinale Agostino Ciasca 27
Bari, Puglia 70124
Italy
4th World Congress of Thoracic Imaging 2017

Sun, 18 Jun 2017 - Wed, 21 Jun 2017


10 Huntington Avenue, Boston MA 02116
United States
CARS 2017

Tue, 20 Jun 2017 - Sat, 24 Jun 2017


Carrer de Déu i Mata 69
Barcelona, Catalunya 08029
Spain
ESGAR 2017

Tue, 20 Jun 2017 - Fri, 23 Jun 2017


Leoforos Vasilissis Sofias
Athina, 115 21
Greece
Nordic Congress of Radiology

Thu, 29 Jun 2017 - Sat, 1 Jul 2017


Austurbakki
Reykjavík, 101
Iceland

Related articles