Partners Exhibit

Partners Symposia

Building on the success of previous BIR IRMER updates, this event aims to provide an invaluable multi-disciplinary forum in which to hear about current practice and the direction of flow of IRMER. We have the opportunity to influence the future implementation of IRMER such as how well is IRMER understood within radiology? What about outside? Can we improve referral practice? How will the wealth of data on patient radiation dose and demographics be managed in the future? Can we rationalise our use of PPE, balancing radiation protection with other risks?
Come to this event to network with your colleagues in radiology, physics, and the various government bodies.

Educational aims:
This event will provide information on the changing shape of IRMER and how it is assessed; including an opportunity to discuss the wider sphere of influence and involvement of IRMER. It will also include a look at the future of data management in radiology and the balancing of risks when selecting and using PPE.

Non member


BIR Plan 1 member


BIR Plan 2 member


BIR Trainee member


BIR Retired/Student member



Registration and refreshments


Welcome and introduction Mr Peter Hiles,

Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital


Update from Department of Health

Mr Ian Chell, Policy Manager for Ionising Radiation, Department of Health


Revising the medical and dentail guidance notes - what’s going on? An IR(ME) R focus

Mr John Saunderson, Consultant Physicist/Radiation Protection Adviser, Hull and East Yorkshire


Managing IRMER in Scotland (IRMER inspector with Scottish perspective)

Mr Arthur Johnston, Warrented IRMER Inspector for Scotland


The work of the PHE Medical Exposures Group in support of IR(ME)R compliance

Mrs Louise Fraser, Scientific Adviser, Public Health England




CT justification study in NI Speaker to be confirmed Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Referrers and referring: Encouraging appropriate referral practice

Dr Ashley Shaw, Consultant Radiologist, Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


Classification of radiology errors to help you learn from them: The work of the Clinical Imaging Board’s (CID) radiology errors working party (WP)

Ms Maria Murray, Professional Officer (Radiation Protection), The Society and College of Radiographers and Chair of Working Party




IR(ME)R outside radiology: How is it handled?

Dr Claire Skinner, Consultant Clinical Scientist and Head of Radiological Physics and Radiation Safety, The Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust


Cardiologist training in radiation protection - developing an eLearning package

Mrs Debbie Peet, Head of Medical Physics, Leicester Royal Infirmary




Guidance for producing DRLs and/or progress on national dose registry

Ms Sue Edyvean, Head of Medical (Radiation) Dosimetry Group, Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards (CRCE)


Shaping the future of patient dose management in radiology

Mr Matt Dunn, Head of Radiology Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust


Big data - big deal?

Dr Andrew Reilly, Head of Radiotherapy Physics, Western Health and Social Care Trust


New guidance on X-ray PPE

Mr Peter Hiles, Clinical Physicist and Radiation Protection Adviser, Head of Radiation Physics, Glan Clwyd Hospital




Close of event

More events


Mon, 17 Oct 2016 - Fri, 21 Oct 2016

Syngrou Avenue 89-93
Athina, 117 45
 ESCR 2016

Thu, 20 Oct 2016 - Sat, 22 Oct 2016

Kraków, Lesser Poland Voivodeship false
Image Soundly: Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound (SRU) Annual Meeting

Fri, 21 Oct 2016 - Sun, 23 Oct 2016

Light Street 300
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
United States

Wed, 26 Oct 2016 - Sat, 29 Oct 2016

Messe-Allee 1, Leipzig 04356

Thu, 3 Nov 2016 - Fri, 4 Nov 2016

Borough High Street 241
London, SE1 1GA
United Kingdom
 3rd Education and Training PAIRS Course

Fri, 4 Nov 2016 - Sun, 6 Nov 2016

Impasse Souissi
Rabat, Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër
ESOI/EORTC Autumn Workshop 2016

Wed, 9 Nov 2016 - Fri, 11 Nov 2016

Via Alibert 5A
Roma, Lazio 00187
Diagnostic and Interventional Breast Ultrasound Course 2016

Fri, 11 Nov 2016 - Sat, 12 Nov 2016

Auenbruggerplatz 2
Graz, Steiermark 8036
RSNA 2016: Radiological Society of North America Conference

Sun, 27 Nov 2016 - Fri, 2 Dec 2016

South Lake Shore Drive 2301
Chicago, Illinois 60616
United States
BIR UK MRI Course 2017

Tue, 24 Jan 2017 - Fri, 27 Jan 2017

Aldersgate House, 135-137 Aldersgate Street
Barbican, London EC1A 4JA
United Kingdom
Fetal MRI Interactive Refresher Course

Fri, 27 Jan 2017 - Mon, 27 Feb 2017

Charles Street Building, Sheffield Hallam University, City Campus Howard Street
Sheffield, England S1 1WB
United Kingdom
TOPIM 2017 : Neuroimaging- From Molecules To Networks

Sun, 19 Feb 2017 - Fri, 24 Feb 2017

Route de la Côté des Chavants false
Les Houches, Rhône-Alpes 74310
ECR 2017

Wed, 1 Mar 2017 - Sun, 5 Mar 2017

Bruno Kreisky Platz 1
Vienna, 1210
SIR 2017

Sat, 4 Mar 2017 - Thu, 9 Mar 2017

Mount Vernon Place Northwest 801
Washington, District of Columbia 20001
United States

Wed, 5 Apr 2017 - Fri, 7 Apr 2017

Universitätsstraße 33
Köln, Nordrhein-Westfalen 50931

Fri, 5 May 2017 - Tue, 9 May 2017

SIIM 2017 Annual Meeting

Thu, 1 Jun 2017 - Sat, 3 Jun 2017

Fort Duquesne Boulevard 1000
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222
United States
ESSR Annual Scientific Meeting 2017

Thu, 15 Jun 2017 - Sat, 17 Jun 2017

Via Cardinale Agostino Ciasca 27
Bari, Puglia 70124
ESGAR 2017 - Precision and Performance in Abdominal Radiology

Tue, 20 Jun 2017 - Fri, 23 Jun 2017

Leoforos Vasilissis Sofias
Athina, 115 21

Related articles